Data Research and Concept Drafts

TLDR: I chose idea 4 to pursue, the worldwide locations of cryptids/urban legend monsters, using a world map style infographic and sketchy styled images.

Over all I had a total of 6 different concepts, however in the mind maps viewed below they are listed as 5 different ideas, because the first two are on the same general topic. Over all I enjoy all of these ideas and perhaps if I have free time in the future I will pursue them independently.

idea 1, 1.1.jpeg

Idea 1.1 Pokémon Type chart

Topic: An interactive version of the type charts from each generation in which the types of Pokémon are changed/added, inspired by the Syria relationships chart where hovering over the chart highlights which result you’re looking at and clicking on the result would give you more information.

Concerns: Because static versions of this chart exist it would be difficult to look different, the biggest difference I can think of would be that my colour palette is limited.

Decision: I will not be pursuing this idea due to the similarity of already existing charts, the interactivity does not change it enough.

 

Idea 1.2 Pokémon GO egg hatching ‘radar’

Topic: An infographic that radiates out from a centre egg shaped button, each level of the graphic refers to the length of travel needed for the indicated Pokémon to hatch from an egg. It also informs the viewer of the possibilities of what will hatch from a ‘2km egg’ etc, inside the radius of each egg length is a silhouette of each Pokémon that is able to hatch from a leg of that length. Hovering over the silhouette would reveal the Pokémon/show an image of it and clicking would give you more information on the Pokémon, names, stats, etc.

Concerns: I would have to draw roughly 73 (I counted it out but am not sure if I’m remembering correctly) silhouettes and then 73 images of the Pokémon, and then 73 set of information.

Decision: Taking the time limit into consideration, I am not choosing to do this, however it is my second place winner.

 

idea 2 and 3

 

Idea 2

Topic: a scroll wheel style infographic showing the equivalent f.stops compared to the zone system for lighting in photography, this is something inspired by my photography class at uni in which the tutor remarked he thought someone would have made an app for this by now.

Concerns: There may not be enough to this idea to pursue it.

Decision: The concerns here are minimal however I have opted for an idea I enjoy more than this one, therefore this will not be the interactive infographic I make.

 

Idea 3

Topic: At this point in my research I figured I should have a more serious topic. The history of swearing is actually really interesting and I enjoy the idea of pushing the boundaries, so seeing if I could get away with the topic of swear words in a tasteful and lighthearted manner. This is maybe the only one where I immediately knew I could use a line graph in my visuals for it, as well as envisioning a colour scheme right off the bat.

Concerns: Whilst pushing the boundaries is something I enjoy it is also quite the risk.

Decision: Upon speaking to my tutor about each of these ideas, they expressed the opinion that this may not be the best idea due to the nature of the topic.

 

idea 4 and 5

 

Idea 4

Topic: A map with highlighted locations of where cryptids are thought to exist, clicking on the locations would show an image of the creature and some information about it, this is a very simple idea however I find it really interesting and more than that, it seems doable.

Concerns: How to get the map to look unique/fit in with the aesthetic, it’s a world map everyone knows what that looks like.

Decision: This is the idea that I will be pursuing, unlike the egg chart (Idea 1.2) I can limit the amount of cryptids that I can cover, I think a good/solid amount would be 15-20, in the vein of like top 5 of this type of cryptid, such as hoaxes or famous ones, I would then have to decide on 3-4 sections to split them into.

 

Idea 5

Topic: How often lies are told, heard, noticed, etc. through out a day. This topic is one of the less immediately interesting topics however the thought of displaying it in a really fun way appeals to me. It is also one of the ideas that I came up with to have a more serious idea to potentially pursue, it is also the only idea in which stats to go off were easily found.

Concerns: The aesthetic I would want to use may not relate to the topic enough for it to be passable in the eyes of the tutors/markers of the assessment.

Decision: Whilst this is one of the more doable ideas, due to its slightly less interesting topic, although I still enjoy it, was looked over when I made the final decision on which topic to do for the interactive data visual.

 

Leave a comment